Welcome!

This is post #1 & I’m writing this blog in the hopes that I can do a better job of communicating updates on Mikaela’s progress by posting publicly. My apologies for falling behind on keeping people looped in, but this blog will remedy the situation!

Mikaela & I have been uplifted by the remarkable amount of support from family, friends, and complete strangers throughout this process, and I can personally say that I appreciate the ways each and every one of you have gone out of your way to send Mikaela love. It means the world to her, and I love seeing the way she lights up whenever someone comes to visit, sends some kind of note or gift, or even just calls to chat.

This blog will be THE source for news on Mikaela’s progress, and I hope that it will also make you appreciate your own life in new ways.

To close a short post, I want to share a poem we both appreciated from a book I was reading while we were on one of our medical trips to UCSF — Invictus, by William Ernest Henley:

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll.
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

2 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. Carrie Brewer says:

    Thanks for starting this Keith! I’m so glad to be able to know whats going on with Mikaela so we can support her through every step of this experience. I love the poem, very inspriring and so true. You got this Mikaela! Love you girl 🙂

Leave some love!

